Langford Oration Print

The Langford Oration forms an integral part of the Annual Conference. The Oration, named in honour of the College's Foundation President, the late Dr Sam Langford, is delivered by a distinguished person on a topic of his or her choosing. At the conclusion of the Langford Oration, new Fellows are formally admitted and the Bernard Nicholson Memorial Prize (awarded to the outstanding Candidate at the oral examinations) is presented, if there is a candidate judged worthy of this.


Langford Orations have been delivered by:

2015 Major Campbell Roberts
2014 Professor Mohamed Khadra
2013 The Honourable Justice Catherine E Holmes
2012 Rear Admiral Robyn Walker
2011 Professor John Catford
2010 Professor Judith MacKay
2009 Professor Fred Hilmer
2008 Professor Chris Baggoley
2007 Professor John Pearn
2006 Sir Guy Greene
2005 Ms Beth Wilson
2004 Professor Sir John Scott
2003 Her Excellency Prof. Marie Bashir AC
2002 Professor Fiona Stanley AO
2001 Professor John Funder AO
2000 Professor John Hay
1999 Dr John Yu
1998 Rt Rv Richard Randerson
1997 Dr Miles Lewis
1996 Mr Gatjil Djerrkura
1995 Professor Susie Linden-Laufer
1994 Professor Alan Gilbert
1993 Sir Llewellyn R Edwards
1992 Professor J Young
1991 The Hon Mr Justice D Malcolm
1990 His Excellency Dr D McCaughey
1989 Emeritus Professor P Karmel
1988 Senator The Hon P Baume
1987 Dr M H Durie
1986 Dr J Watson
1985 Professor A Cobbold
1984 Mr R Gibson
1983 Professor H Attwood
1982 Mr A Cohen
1981 Sir Zelman Cowen
1980 Professor G D Tracey
1979 Professor R Sackville
1978 Sir Gustav Nossal
1977 Mr Justice F G Brennan
1976 Dr C J Cummins
1975 Dr D Myers
1974 Professor E Saint
1973 Dr W E R Hackett
1972 Professor L J Kramer
1971 Professor H M Whyte
1970 Mr A J A Gardner
1969 Professor J Loewenthal
1968 Sir Philip Baxter


Last Updated on Tuesday, 15 September 2015 13:18